Item Charges – Analysis

• Item Charges – Analysis

Posted by Michael Sedlock on February 1, 2019 at 10:03 am
    • Michael Sedlock

February 1, 2019 at 10:03 AM

Hello Everyone,

I’m new to Microsoft NAV 2017 and need some assistance on a request from my Accounts Payable manager.
      We create Purchase Invoices for Air Freight charges using Item Charges. The team wants to further break down those charges by an additional “dimension” for analysis. I suggested creating additional Item Charges by that would break down into the individual group. They didn’t like it because they want to see all Air Freight Charges then sub categories for each type.

For instance 
      Air Freight (overall) 
         Air Freight – Quality Issue
         Air Freight – Vendor Delay

I was thinking of using a Dimension in NAV?

Any suggestions on how to do this in NAV 2017, preferably without any modifications?
      But I’m flexible…

#NAV2017
      #Finance

Thank you in advance,
      Michael???

——————————
      Michael Sedlock
      Dukal Corporation
      Ronkonkoma NY
      ——————————

• Patti Parrish

February 4, 2019 at 4:11 PM

How will your AP staff access this data requirement?  Do they want to see through a financial report where a dimension would give them the data?

——————————
      Patti Parrish
      Finance Project Manager
      EthosEnergy Power Plant Services
      Alpharetta, Ga
      ——————————
      ——————————————-

• Michael Sedlock

February 4, 2019 at 4:49 PM

Hi Patti
      Thanks for responding. 

That is great question, so I asked. This is probably not the ideal method, but… they currently would navigate to Value Entries, filter on Item Charge No. = “AIR FRT” then export to Excel and create some pivot tables.